LibGuides: Integrative Health and Healing: Databases for Articles

Individual Research Databases on Health

The first time you search these databases you can login with a user ID and password that the TGI Librarian will provide you - if you have not received this, you can contact me. After that, you can create an individual account, and login with that username and password, which will you allow you to save articles for subsequent sessions.

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for many nursing and allied health journals. It covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost - Video Tutorial
CINAHL - Finding Qualitative Research Articles
From University of Washington Libraries
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This collection of consumer health information provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, and technology.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

PubMed and PubMed Central

PubMed is a database of citations and abstracts for more than 27 million articles.

Searching in PubMed Includes explanation of how PubMed's simple search interprets your search terms.

Finding Qualitative Research Articles in Pubmed. Guide from University of Washington Libraries.

PubMed Central^®(PMC) is an electronic archive of full-text journal articles, offering free access to its contents. PMC contains more than 4 million articles, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed. You can limit your search in many ways, including limiting it to "Complementary Medicine".

PubMed® Online Training
There are "quick tours" and more in depth tutorials.

Search academic databases for a variety of subjects!

The first time you search these databases you can login with a username and password that the TGI Librarian will provide you - if you have not received this, you can contact me. After that, you can create an individual account, and login with that username and password, which will you allow you to save articles for subsequent sessions.

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 2000 non-open access journals.
Discovery Service - OneSearch for Colleges & Universities
Search many databases simultaneously

Qualitative Research

Locating Qualitative Research
Guide to search strategies and filters for locating qualitative research. From NYU Libraries.

ISHAR Library

ISHAR (Integrative Studies Historical Archive & Repository) offers tens of thousands of free, qualified academic sources on a range of topics, the main coverage of which includes Integrative Health, Integrative Culture and Integrative Theory.

Integrative Health (Medical sources): All subjects relating to integrative medical or psychological health. A few examples include acupuncture’s palliative effects, yoga’s health benefits, meditation’s psychological benefits and Ayurveda’s efficacy. This is the largest section in ISHAR.
Integrative Culture (Historical & Anthropological sources): All subjects relating to cultural, historical and social aspects of belief systems, cosmologies, spirituality, cultural traits and practices.
Integrative Theory (Scientific & Philosophical sources): All subjects relating to theoretical studies into integrative concepts that are scientific but not centered on medicine. Examples include consciousness research, quantum physics’ implications and philosophy.

Google Scholar

Is Google Scholar right for my research?

Google Scholar is good for...

Helping a beginning researcher identify journal titles and authors connected with subjects of interest.
Finding "gray literature" like conference proceedings. It includes many articles that wouldn't get included in other indexing services.
Locating obscure references that are proving difficult to find in conventional databases.
Locating more information on partial citations.

Google Scholar cannot...

Sort/search by disciplinary field
Limit search results with the same precision as most subscription databases

Keep in Mind:

You may get a long list of results, but you will only have access to the full text of certain articles
Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly and it is difficult to limit to only scholarly publications. Google Scholar searches academic websites (.edu) as well as journals and publisher websites. Search results can include PowerPoints, news announcements or unpublished materials as well as articles and books.
Searching in Google Scholar is imprecise when compared with discipline-specific databases, and there are fewer options to limit or narrow search results.

Google Scholar often prompts you to pay for full text articles. In many cases, however, these articles are freely accessible to TGI students through a subscription database.

Research Databases on Education

Professional Development Center
Professional Development Collection is a specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators and education researchers. It includes more than 460 full-text journals, including the full text of nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 2000 non-open access journals.

Databases for General Interest and Newspaper Articles

MainFile
EBSCO’s MainFile is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
MasterFILE Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Newswires
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

Videos

The Longevity Roadmap is a set of 8 videos from Dr. Mark Hyman, founder and director of The UltraWellness Center, the Head of Strategy and Innovation of the Cleveland Clinic Center for Functional Medicine and Board President for Clinical Affairs for The Institute for Functional Medicine.

Those can be accessed on password protected page that has been set up for the IHH program on TGI’s website; that page also has videos of some classes, including a presentation by Caroline Myss. That link is: Integrative Health Videos - The Graduate Institute (learn.edu)
Ruth Alcabes can provide you the password.