Please allow me to introduce myself. I am Ruth Alcabes, and I am the Librarian for The Graduate Institute. I am here to help you find the best information resources for your TGI assignments and projects, and I can also help you with formatting citations.
You may not yet be aware that as a TGI student, you have access to many electronic databases include articling databases with millions of articles and thousands of ebooks, downloadable audiobooks.
You can find links to the databases through the pages that are linked on the left.The first time you search these databases you can login with a username and password that the TGI Librarian will provide you - if you have not received this, you can contact me. After that, you can create an individual account, and login with that username and password, which will you allow you to save articles for subsequent sessions. Some of these databases, those provided through an arrangement with the Connecticut State Library, might be accessible without a special login, if your computer's IP address is determined to originate from within the state of Connecticut.
You also have access to the collections and services of the Clark Memorial Library in Bethany, whether or not you live in Bethany or in the State of Connecticut, and the librarians there can help you use the Interlibrary Loan service to request materials in addition to those available through their collections. Please present your ID at the Clark Memorial Library in order to register for their services.
Please also contact me if you would like to discuss your research. You can reach me by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. You can also make an appointment to meet with me either in person at The Graduate Institute or by Zoom video conference. Feel free to contact me with any library questions you may have. I look forward to hearing from you!
You also have access to the collections and services of the Clark Memorial Library in Bethany, whether or not you live in Bethany or in the State of Connecticut. Please present your ID at the Clark Memorial Library in order to register for their services. You can then use their card to request books from other libraries through the LION system, and the librarians at Clark can help you use the Interlibrary Loan service to request additional materials.
Their address is 538 Amity Rd, Bethany, CT 06524 and their phone number is (203) 393-2103.
Their hours are:.
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 10 a.m. to .6 p.m.
Friday 2 to 5 p.m.
Saturday 12 to 5 p.m.
They are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
When their building is closed, you can still access books and magazines digitally by using Overdrive and Zinio.
You can use the link below to search thier catalog for books at the Bethany/Clark Memorial Library, as well as books in the LION system of which they are part, and request that those books be sent there.
Please contact me if you wish to arrange access to print books from TGI's library.