Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to The Graduate Institute Library!

From these pages you can access a variety of information resources available to you as a student at The Graduate Institute, as well as some of the best freely available resources on the Web.

Welcome to the Graduate Institute Library!

Please allow me to introduce myself. I am Ruth Alcabes, and I am the Librarian for The Graduate Institute. I am here to help you find the best information resources for your TGI assignments and projects, and I can also help you with formatting citations.

You may not yet be aware that as a TGI student, you have access to the many electronic databases of the Connecticut State Library and the electronic collections of the Mitchell College Library, which includes article databases with millions of articles, thousands of ebooks, downloadable audiobooks as well as several streaming video services. This is in addition to the physical resources of Mitchell College, Sacred Heart University, and those of The Graduate Institute itself, which will again be available once we resume in person classes.

You can find links to the databases through the pages that are linked on the left. You will be able to access the databases that provided by the Connecticut State Library without a special login, if your computer's IP address is determined to originate from within the state of Connecticut. If you are not recognized as being in Connecticut, or with certain databases just available to academic users, you can login with the library barcode which you will be provided on the back of your student ID or in an email. In order to access Mitchell College’s collections of electronic resources, you must login with your last name and barcode number. If you have not yet received this number, you can contact me to obtain it.

Once in person services resume, you will also have access to the collections and services of the Clark Memorial Library in Bethany, whether or not you live in Bethany or in the State of Connecticut, and the librarians there can help you use the Interlibrary Loan service to request materials in addition to those available through their collections. Please present your ID at the Clark Memorial Library in order to register for their services.

Please also contact me if you would like to discuss your research. You can reach me by email at alcabes@learn.edu, or by telephone at 203-874-4252. You can also make an appointment to meet with me either in person at The Graduate Institute or by Zoom video conference. Feel free to contact me with any library questions you may have. I look forward to hearing from you!

 

 

 

 

Search for Books at TGI

Here you can search for print books that are available at TGI itself.

TGI's collection of print books is shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system. The classes and divisions in that system which may contain many of the books most closely related to TGI's programs include class 100, for philosophy and psychology, division 370, for education, class 400, for language, division 610, for medicine and health, division 650, for management and public relations and class 800, for literature.

Books from Bethany's Clark Memorial Library

You also have access to the collections and services of the Clark Memorial Library in Bethany, whether or not you live in Bethany or in the State of Connecticut. Please present your ID at the Clark Memorial Library in order to register for their services. You can then use their card to request books from other libraries through the LION system, and the librarians at Clark can help you use the Interlibrary Loan service to request additional materials.

Their address is 538 Amity Rd, Bethany, CT 06524 and their phone number is (203) 393-2103.

Their hours are:.

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 10 a.m. to .8 p.m.

Friday 2 to 6 p.m.

Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

They are closed on Sundays and Mondays.

When their building is closed, you can still access books and magazines digitally by using Overdrive and Zinio.

You can use the link below to search thier catalog for books at the Bethany/Clark Memorial Library, as well as books in the LION system of which they are part, and request that those books be sent there.

Catalog